St. Anne’s Community College Killaloe (1-15) v (1-12) Ard Scoil Na Mara, Tramore Corn Risteard Ui Mhathuna


St. Anne’s Community College Killaloe (1-15) v (1-12)    Ard Scoil Na Mara, Tramore

Corn Risteard Ui Mhathuna Group E (19 C H) Round 1

Holycross 12:30 PM

Yesterday, St. Anne’s Senior boys won their first game in the group stage of the Munster Hurling Championship. They had a comprehensive win over Ard Scoil Na Mara, Tramore with a score line of 1-15 to 1-12. St Anne’s took an early lead in the first half with great scores from Matthew Power, Dylan McMahon and Darren Bowe. Twenty minutes into the game St Anne’s scored their first and only goal. Following great work from Tony Seymour who blocked down the full back, Kian Donnelly managed to take on three players to score a brilliant goal. St Anne’s went into half time with a score of 1-10. Following great work from our forwards, we won a lot of frees that Matthew Power duly converted.  At the other end of the pitch, our full back line and goalkeeper defended brilliantly throughout and Tramore only managed 5 points in the opening half.

In the second half Tramore came out strongly and put us under pressure. Our full back James Hanley, along with our goalkeeper James Power and the other backs, defended excellently but Tramore managed to score their first and only goal 15 minutes into the second half, bringing the gap between the teams within 5 points. St Anne’s continued to score throughout the second half, with brilliant points from Matthew Power, Eoghan Power, Davy Boland and Dylan McMahon, bringing our total score to 1-15. Tramore fought hard, bringing the gap to only 3 points with five minutes left to play. In the end St Anne’s managed to hold onto their lead, winning by 3 points with a score line of 1-15 to 1-12.

There were great displays all over the field from James Power in goal, Eanna McNamara, James Hanley, Mike Gough, Matthew Power and Kian Donnelly, who made a senior debut for the school.

Man of the Match: James Hanley

Team:  James Power, Eanna McNamara, James Hanley, Tommy Walsh, Mike Gough, Sam Loughran, Connor Power, Eoghan Power, Dylan McMahon, Davy Boland, Matthew Power, Darren Bowe, Robbie Breen, Kian Donnelly, Tony Seymour

Substitutions: Luke Kennedy for Robbie Breen, David Slevin for Tony Seymour.

Scores: Matthew Power 0-7 (3 from play), Kian Donnelly 1-2, Dylan McMahon 0-2, Davy Bolland 0-2, Eoghan Power 0-1, Darren Bowe 0-1.


Match report by Adam Fogarty


St Annes Twitter

Humans of St. Anne's


St. Anne's Community College
Co. Clare

Phone: (061) 376 257
Fax: (061) 375 768