St. Anne’s reach another Final with Boys U15 Hurling team


St. Anne’s Community College U 15 Hurling team have reached the Munster PPS final yesterday after beating St. Joseph’s,  Borrisoleigh with a score line of 1-17 to 2-5. The boys were impressive in the match with a great performances by many of the players. The team have been training hard all year and will be looking forward to the final next week.



Nominations for Les Miserables in the Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards

Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards - Twibbon

St. Anne’s Community College shortlisted in this year’s Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards

Awards ceremony to take place on 5 May 2016

St. Anne’s Community College has been shortlisted in the Best Musical Number and Best Performance in a Supporting Role category for its production of Les Misérables.

The Clare school will now travel to a special awards ceremony at the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre on Thursday, 5 May 2016 where the winners will be announced. RTÉ Two Tube presenters Stephen Byrne and Bláthnaid Treacy will host the event, with a special guest performance yet to be announced.

The highly successful awards were set up by Bord Gáis Energy to recognise and reward participation in drama in schools. This year, 2,888 entries were received from 351 primary and secondary schools across Ireland.

The awards categories range from best overall school musical, best overall school play and best set design to individual categories such as best short scene script, best dramatic critique and best male and female performances in a leading role.

This year’s judging panel comprised actress Amy Huberman; playwright Marina Carr; Strictly Come Dancing star Tristan MacManus; author Sarah Webb; set and costume designer Maree Kearns; Bord Gáis Energy Theatre manager Stephen Faloon and Bord Gáis Energy communications manager, Irene Gowing.

Commenting on the shortlist Irene Gowing, communications manager for Bord Gáis Energy said: “The standard of this year’s entries was exceptional, showing the wealth of talent in schools across the country, and I’ve no doubt there are many stars in the making. For the judges, this meant a really tough job narrowing down our shortlist. I would like to thank all teachers and students in Clare who entered, as well as the parents who support them. Congratulations to all the shortlisted Clare schools and students and we look forward to the welcoming you all at the awards ceremony on the 5 May.”

The full 2016 shortlist is available to view at

Excitement building ahead of the All Ireland Camogie Final


Excitement is building in the school today ahead of tomorrow’s All Ireland Camogie Final in The Ragg, Thurles, Co. Tipperary. The girls have been preparing hard for the final and we wish them all the best.

The team are:

1 Rachel Daly Scariff /Ogonnelloe   (3rd Year), 2 Clare Maguire Ballina (TY), 3 Susan Daly Scariff /Ogonnelloe (3rd Year), 4 Anna Spaight Broadford (TY) 5 Aoife Graham Ballina (3rd Year), 6 Moya Marsh McMahon Broadford (TY),         7 Alison McGee Scariff /Ogonnelloe (2nd Year), 8 Lynda Daly Scariff /Ogonnelloe(3rd Year) 9 Holly McGee Scariff /Ogonnelloe   ( 3rd Year) 10 Anna Lee Marsh Broadford (TY) 11 Aoife Power Scariff /Ogonnelloe   (TY) Captain12 Ellen Lane Ballina (TY) 13 Hazel McMahon Ballina (2nd Year) 14 Maeve Og O Leary Ballina (TY) 15 Susan O Shea Broadford (2nd Year) 16 Aoife Boland Broadford (TY) 17 Anna Ryan Scariff /Ogonnelloe (TY) 18 Aine Ryan Broadford (TY) 19 Anna McNamara Scariff /Ogonnelloe (2nd Year) 20 Roisin Houlihan Ballina (2nd Year) 21 Fionn Mooney Scariff /Ogonnelloe  (2nd Year) 22 Sarah Lane Ballina (1st Year) 23 Emily Clarke Ballina (1st Year) 24 Kate Clarke Ballina           (1st Year) 25 Kate Walsh Scariff /Ogonnelloe (1st Year) 26 Leah O Donovan Ballina (1st Year) 27 Jennifer Daly Scariff /Ogonnelloe (1st Year) 28 Emma Spaight Broadford (1st Year)

U15 Boys Rugby team battle hard in the Final of the Cleary Cup


2016-04-12 12.56.47

Excitement filled the school today as the Boys U15 rugby team prepared for the Cleary Cup final in Clonmel. The team had trained hard all year and done very well to get to the final. Lead by their captain Joseph McEvoy (3rd year) the team were up against tough competition with the High School in Clonmel team having many experienced players from the Munster academy. Although going a try down in the first five minutes, the boys battled hard throughout the game showing their strong spirit of never giving up.

Although the final score doesn’t reflect the boys effort and work rate throughout the match, the boys did their coaches, their school, their supporters and themselves so very proud.

Thank you to the teachers and two support buses who travelled to support the team today. Well done to their coaches Ciaran Sheedy, Harry Byrnes, Felim Tuite, Jack Lynch, Marc Loughran and Hugh Denning. Thank you Jack R Lynch for the photographs.

2016-04-12 12.57.312016-04-12 13.00.18

2016-04-12 13.03.28       2016-04-12 13.05.47

U15 Rugby Team:

Joseph McEvoy, Liam Hart, Patrick Lucas, David Boland, Tadhg Maguire, Conor Power, Cathal McKeogh, Sam Loughran, Shane Whelan Carey, Séan Hale, Brian Cahill, Jimi O’Baoill, Luke Kennedy, Sammy Pooley, Dylan McMahon, Eoin Geragthy, Jack McEvoy, Adam Cunnane, Bradley Sharpe, Connor Johnson and Ben Flynn.


See Gallery for more pictures.

Chess thriving in Clare schools

St. Anne’s Community College Killaloe, St Caimins College Shannon and St. Joesph’s College Tulla participated in an inter schools chess tournament in Killaloe on Thursday 7th April. 4 teams from each school battled it out for the day with each team playing up to 6 games.

St. Caimin’s top team with Irish champions took well deserved 1st place medals on the day. Killaloe TY team also had success being the runners up in what was a tough competition.  They were delighted with their win as it was their first ever competition.

Excellent participation in the tournament was a credit to the school’s involved.

Thanks to Mrs. Corbett, the staff at Killaloe and all her helpers throughout the day.



Chess tournament winners

Past pupil Shane O’Leary to start for Connacht this weekend

Past pupil Shane O Leary will line out at number 10 for Connacht when they face his old club Grenoble on Saturday in the quarter-finals of the European Challenge Cup. Shane has been with Connacht since the Summer of 2014 after previously playing for Grenoble. Shane got his first start of the season in last weekends clash against Ulster when Connacht were narrowly beaten 18-10. Shane  has worked his way up through the ranks showing that hard work and dedication do pay off and has earned his starting place again this weekend.

Shane’s initial rugby was with Ballina Killaloe RFC, who then amalgamated with Scarriff RFC before his move to the Limerick club Young Munster.

The match will be live on BT Sport on Saturday with kick off at 8:05pm.

St Annes Twitter

Humans of St. Anne's


St. Anne's Community College
Co. Clare

Phone: (061) 376 257
Fax: (061) 375 768